Episode 013 | Sheer Mag “Need to Feel Your Love” & Donald Fagen “The Nightfly”

Donald Fagen and Sheer Mag albums are reviewed in Episode 13

In this episode we swap Sheer Mag’s 2017 release “Need to Feel Your Love” and Donald Fagen’s “The Nightfly”. Released in 1982, “The Nightfly” was Donald Fagen’s first solo album after the breakup of Steely Dan. Using many of the same musicians, Fagen crafts one of the masterpieces of it’s day and the first digitally recorded album. Hailing from Philadelphia by way of New York, Sheer Mag’s first album is chock full of great riffs, angst and grit . With it’s low-fi recording style, this album grabs you and never let’s go!


Sheer Mag

Donald Fagen

Episode 005 | Sharon Jones & Dap Kings “I Learned the Hard Way” & fIREHOSE “Ragin’ Full On”

Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings and fIREHOSE albums swapped in this episode.

Episode 5 of Album Swap music review podcast has Sharon Jones and The Dap Kings “I Learned the Hard Way” and fIREHOSE “Ragin’ Full On” albums reviewed. Sharon Jones and The Dap Kings album is very vintage soul and funk while fIREHOSE is a punk band from the 80s that bordered on alternative with their sound.

As we mentioned in the podcast below is image of the lyrics from fIREHOSE album.

Sharon Jones and The Dap Kings


Episode 004 | David Bowie “Let’s Dance” & Daft Punk “Random Access Memories”

David Bowie "Let's Dance" and Daft Punk's "Random Access Memories" are reviewed in this episode of Album Swap Podcast

This episode features David Bowie’s “Let’s Dance” and Daft Punk’s “Random Access Memories.”

“Let’s Dance” features Stevie Ray Vaughn on guitar, Omar Hakim on Drums and features a song written by Giorgio Moroder, “Cat People,” one of two soundtrack songs on this album.  The album was produced by Nile Rodgers who also contributes on guitar on a few songs. It was nominated for Album of the Year Grammy but lost out to “Thriller” by Michael Jackson.

“Random Access Memories” has a large group of contributors including Giorgio Moroder, Panda Bear, Julian Casablancas, Todd Edwards, DJ Falcon, Chilly Gonzales, Nile Rodgers, Paul Williams and Pharrell Williams. It won Grammy for Album of the Year in 2014 along with 4 other Grammys.


David Bowie

Daft Punk